Signing Up for Flamenco!

I thought this would be a good place to have this discussion.  I signed up for flamenco classes.  I have only seen it twice in my life.  I have heard the amazing music a few times here and there.  Cultural exhibitions, movies and the like.  But when I was in Spain in a dive bar, I was captivated by the song and dance.  Of course I never ever thought of trying it.  I thought, and still think that to exude the essence of it, you really need to know and feel it with every fiber of your being, meaning you need to have seen and done it since childhood.  Recently I was invited by a friend to see a performance again here in Canada because he has his fetish for Flamenco dancers and is bent on marrying one one day, even though he doesn’t know any now – but that’s another story for another blog.  So I was at the show, and loved every moment of it.  Then 2 days later I saw an ad for an 8 week series of Flamenco for Beginners, a ‘no prior experience’ needed kind of class, and I thought it was a sign.  The concert and the poster were just lining up to tell me to try Flamenco.  So now I am excited and curious about what the classes ARE LIKE!  What will I learn??  What are the things Flamenco dancers aim for?  What steps?  What lines?  What poses??  How intense is the class? As intense ast the dance itself??  Even for beginners?  I am wondering if I can be ‘flamecoey’!! Excited but I have so many questions…. Did anyone take it and love it?  Hate it?  What’s the word on the street, people?!Image

Have something to say? Leave a comment here.